Book Review: Charleston Hearts – A Fresh Start

I’ve been doing a lot of praying recently. I’m both excited and scared about this new move we are planning and I need guidance to know I’m making the right decision for our girls and ourselves. I can’t explain why this decision feels right, just like I can’t explain why I need to leave here and change… something. I just know there is another path for us.

In between house projects and realtor meetings I’m still reading to help settle my brain. The Charleston Hearts series is lighter than what I normally gravitate towards, but its messages of hope and love compel me to keep reading.

Amazon Desciption:

Harmony King disappeared from Charleston as soon as she aged out of the foster system. Ten years later, she returns with just as many secrets as she had back then.

As her past threatens to overwhelm her, she seeks mercy at the local church. There, the pastor finds her praying like her life depends on it and decides to entrust one of his tiny therapy dogs to her care.

Will this special Chihuahua’s love be enough to help Harmony discover her own worth, and can it protect her when the dark past she tried so desperately to leave behind finally catches up to her?

My Opinion

I absolutely loved this book. Harmony is an incredibly believable combination of strong and broken. Having grown up in the foster care, she has never felt like she belonged anywhere. It’s her faith in God and herself that gives her strength though.

She found that faith in Pastor Adam’s church as a child. So when things went wrong in Alabama with her ex-boyfriend, it was the only place she felt was safe to go. Pastor Adam helped her find a home, loaned her a dog to love and opened Harmony up to creating a family for herself.

The part Muffin, the church dog, plays in this story felt bigger than Mama Mary in A New Life. His energy and protectiveness were truly a gift from God. I’m actually sad he went back home to his mother and siblings instead of being adopted by Harmony. Sometimes a dog just knows who its people are.

Rating; 5/5

Leave a comment