JAG: A New Life

My husband is retired from the army. It was a huge part of his life, and something he misses every day. As family we have great respect for our troops and do our best to support them when we can. We also watch a lot of military television shows, including the NCIS franchise. I missed watching the earlier episodes, but thanks to streaming I can watch them at my leisure. And since NCIS started with characters on the series JAG, that’s what I started streaming as well.

The plot of episode 1: A New Life involves the disappearance of Lt. Angela Arutti from an aircraft carrier. She was supposed to be the poster girl for the “new navy” in 1995. Not sure how new it is when there is so much sexual harassment.

Harm Rabb is the main character in this series. Previously a combat pilot, he is now a JAG investigator. He lost the ability to fly due to a medical condition. As if this isn’t baggage enough, his dad going MIA in Vietnam adds another level of dedication. He feels like he needs to live up to a legend.

Harm and his partner Kate are expected to conclude that Lt Arutti went missing due to an accident. The crew is pushing for a finding of suicide, which would most likely lead to the senate determining that women are not fit for combat. Only Kate is leaning towards murder, based on a gut feeling and the treatment she is receiving on the carrier as a woman.

I streamed this episode on Paramount+. It doesn’t play as full screen, which doesn’t bother me. I was more confused by how similar the flight scenes are to playing Top Gun on the original Nintendo. I was never good at that game, so I’m super familiar with the crash landing scenario.

Of course this episode ends differently. Harm saves the day. The bad guy is caught. The only surprise is that politics took a back seat to justice.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a comment